On the Flipside

You know what I just realized? I have not updated anyone on here about my job!

Historically, I’m a bad worker. If I hate my job, I do a bad job at it. I find excuses to call in sick as often as possible, my performance deteriorates, and the only thing that is consistently good is my attitude toward customers. Well, at my current job, that hasn’t really been the case. I’ve excelled, and because the company I work for is actually concentrated around performance and actually taking a look and acknowledging those who do well, I am enjoying it. The atmosphere is great, attitudes are fabulous, and I feel valued.

Just over two weeks ago, I was pulled into the manager’s office of another department and asked if, because I’m doing so well, would I become an interim leader in their department? Of course, I said yes because it is a company I know I can grow with and actually would love to do more with them – and this opportunity would give me the chance I need to make sure they know I’m someone that THEY can grow with.

Fast forward to today – I’m not getting paid for the job I’m doing. It’s alright, I knew that going in, but it’s clarified just how much I want this leader position to become permanent. I don’t want to be waiting for their leader to come back every moment and wind up going back to what I was doing before. I’m solving problems, handling tantrums, dealing with issues and I love every moment.

So, in another department, the manager is moving to another area, and so the leader position I carry now is potentially going to open up and so I can apply for that. I talked to my temporary manager about what they think I would need to do in order to be the best candidate for that and they told me to wait. Specifically: “hold your britches.” Apparently, they’re having a meeting about me today and can’t tell me anything about it until after…

So now my mind is going a million miles a minute in a million different directions. My temporary manager made it seem like it is definitely a good thing, so I can’t help but to wonder if they are trying to make my “interim/temporary” position permanent. It seems like the likeliest conclusion, as they have made it abundantly clear they were going to try that – but we all know it’s a long shot.

And now I play my favorite game! The waiting game. Wooo. Mr. Adorkable is super supportive, which is awesome considering how far away he is and that means I’m more invested in staying where I am…isn’t it crazy how things start working out? *knock on wood*

LoL, it sounds like this week is going to be rather eventful.

Sending love!

-Sarra

Leave a comment